The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield

The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield'

Click the cover to buy at Amazon

The Celestine Prophecy is a fictional book written in the form of a parable that delves into the metaphysics of the human spirit. Published in 1993, it became a huge success, reigning for 165 weeks on the New York Times Best Seller List. Printed in 34 languages, more than 20 million copies have been sold worldwide.

Delivered in an artless unsophisticated writing style, the narrator begins his tale of the adventurous search for an ancient manuscript that was written in Aramaic in the year 600BC and was unearthed in the wilds of Peru. This ancient manuscript reveals Nine Insights that could lead to a new awakening of the human spirit and provide a “sense of revelation” about the true meaning of life.

Redfield studied sociology, along with Eastern Philosophies (Taoism and Zen), and offers some plausible explanations for human behavior. He explores the hypothetical possibility that humans thrive on a limited energy supply and are in a constant power struggle sapping the energy out of others. Thus, people get caught up in “control dramas” that create repetitive non-productive behavior and limit the ability to have healthy relationships. With the help of the Nine Insights, humans can tap an invisible level of energy and reach a super-natural level of consciousness. They could then benevolently emit energy to others and this would eventually lead to more loving relationships and a more peaceful, harmonious existence on earth.

In spite of the super-natural element, the analysis of personality types and advice on breaking out of poor communication patterns is down-to-earth common sense. And it is amusing to recognize the various personality types in the people that surround you in life.

Ignore the poor writing style, simplistic plot, and undeveloped characters and simply enjoy the intriguing concept of this uplifting New Age, feel good parable that embraces the power of positive thinking.

James Redfield continued to unfold his philosophical theory, writing several more books on the subject: The Tenth Insight: Holding the Vision, The Secret of Shambhala: In Search of the Eleventh Insight, and The Twelfth Insight: The Hour of Decision. The Celestine Prophecy is the best of the series.

Rated 3 Stars.

All contents © 2011 Lois Weisberg. All rights reserved.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: